NJ FMBA Valor Awards


The New Jersey State FMBA proudly hosts an annual awards presentation in April to recognize members of the organization who have gone beyond the overall call of duty in their communities to earn the title of “hero”. In addition, we also recognize several other Service Award recipients. These include a Humanitarian Award, the George Steele Award for Media, named after past NJ FMBA Secretary George Steele, The Mark Virag Brotherhood Award winner, named for past NJ FMBA  Sergeant at Arms Mark Virag, and the Scott Garber Service Award, named for past NJ FMBA Trustee Chairman Scott Garber. The applications are reviewed by a panel of NJ FMBA members and Corporate Sponsors to determine the recipients. 

The 2021 Valor Awards Dinner will be held on Saturday August 21, 2021 at the Pines Manor in Edison, NJ


2020 Valor Award Recipients

Local of the Year

Irvington Local 14

President Edwin Velasco

Executive Delegate Daniel Richardson





Group Effort Medical

Ridgewood Local 47

FF/EMT Matthew Bombace

FF/EMT Mark Barone


Group Effort Non-Fire

Elizabeth Locals 9 and 209

Captain David Bialas

FF Andrew Deegan

FF Patrick Palovack

FF Ronald Salermo


Group Effort Fire

Maplewood Local 25

DC Richard Salkowski

Captain Keith Addie

FF Kenneth Yarussi

FF James Richardella

FF Anthony Marinello

Prob FF/EMT Anthony Pafumi

FF/EMT Jonathan Conklin

Prob FF/EMT Patrick Alvarez


Civilian Award

Trooper Lt Edward Ryer

Nominated by Belleville Locals 29 and 229


Humanitarian Award

FF Ray Dean

Nominated by Paterson Locals 2 and 202


George Steele Media



Capt. Mark Virag Brotherhood

Tyrone Smith

Peer Assistance

James Keefe

Peer Assistance



Scott Garber Service

FF Edwin Donnelly

Nominated by Union Local 46



Lifesaving Award

FF James Kroll off-duty Kearny Local 18


EMS Medal of Distinction

Lakewood EMS Local 380

EMT Jose Ortiz


Bronze Medal of Valor

Maplewood Local 25

FF James Richardella

FF Anthony Marinello

Prob FF/EMT Anthony Pafumi


Silver Medal of Valor

Rahway Local 33

Captain Ray Lopez

FF Terry Bell


Gold Medal of Valor

Plainfield Local 7 

FF Melvyn Jason Armstead

FF Gabriel Ocasio

FF Hassan Sanders

New Jersey Firefighters Mutual Benevolent Association